Kanarfogel_60512F-12Professor Ephraim Kanarfogel, E. Billi Ivry University Professor of Jewish History, Literature and Law at Yeshiva University, has been named to the Executive Committee of the American Academy for Jewish Research, where he joins colleagues from Columbia University, Princeton University, the University of Michigan, the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Toronto. The American Academy for Jewish Research represents the oldest organization of Judaic scholars in North America. Fellows are nominated and elected by their peers and thus constitute the most distinguished and most senior scholars teaching Judaic studies at American universities.

Kanarfogel currently chairs the committee that awards the Academy’s prestigious Salo Baron Book Prize for the best first book in Jewish studies. In addition to Kanarfogel, members of the Academy from the core faculty of YU’s Bernard Revel Graduate School of Jewish Studies include Dean David Berger, the Ruth and I. Lewis Gordon Professor of Jewish History; Professor Yaakov Elman, Herbert S. and Naomi Denenberg Chair in Talmudic Studies; Professor Jeffrey Gurock, Libby M. Klaperman Professor of Jewish History; Professor Arthur Hyman, Distinguished Service Professor of Philosophy; and Professor Richard Steiner, professor of Semitic languages and literature.

Comments are closed.