The University of Rochester sponsors four prestigious awards on an annual basis, recognizing outstanding achievements in leadership and academics of high school Juniors.  MTA is proud to announce this year’s awardees: Dov Pfeiffer of Bergenfield, NJ received the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, which recognizes high achievement in Science classes, high Math scores on the PSAT and SAT, and positive contributions to both the school and the larger community.  Dov received the award as the top Junior in all three experimental sciences – Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. Akiva Richman of West Hempstead, NY received the Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology, which honors exposure to new technologies outside of school, leading other students to new approaches to old problems, and a strong interest and high achievement in innovation and information technology.  Akiva received the award for his accomplishments in Engineering and Robotics. Ezra Muskat of West Hempstead, NY received the Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award, which acknowledges a demonstrated commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues, leadership and dedication to community action, and strong grades in humanities and social sciences.  Ezra received the award for his outstanding efforts in addressing important social issues. Noam Mayerfeld of Teaneck, NJ received the George Eastman Young Leaders Award, which highlights strong leadership both within school and the community, high grades in challenging courses, and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities.  Noam received the award for his exemplary achievements in all three categories. “We are tremendously proud of Dov, Akiva, Ezra, and Noam,” said Head of School Rabbi Joshua Kahn. “All four students exemplify strong academic abilities and leadership skills and are true role models for their peers.”


Comments are closed.