Oustanding Alumni To Be Honored May 4

Apr 20, 2004 — The alumni associations of Yeshiva University’s undergraduate colleges will join together to honor eight graduates who have made significant contributions to religious, educational, scholarly, communal, and professional life.

The May 4 ceremony will present the Stern College for Women Alumnae Association’s 21st annual Samuel Belkin Memorial Awards; the Yeshiva College Alumni Association’s 47th annual Bernard Revel Memorial Awards and its 13th Samuel Belkin Literary Award; and the Sy Syms School of Business Alumni Association’s 8th annual Norman Lamm Award.

The Revel, Belkin, and Lamm awards are named for the university’s first, second, and third presidents, respectively. Yeshiva and Stern Colleges are the undergraduate schools of liberal arts and sciences; the Sy Syms School is the undergraduate business school.

This year’s recipients of the Belkin Award are:

•Shirley Hus ’73S, of New York, NY, for Jewish education
•Toby Hilsenrad Weiss ’65S, of Bronx, NY, for community relations
•Judith Frankel Schwarzberg ’81S, of Highland Park, NJ, for Jewish education

Recipients of the Revel Award are:

•Moses Feuerstein ’36Y, of Brookline, MA, for community service leadership
•Rabbi Kenneth Brander ’84Y, ’86R, of Boca Raton, FL, for religious education
•Rabbi Maurice Lamm ’51Y, ’54R, of Woodmere, NY, for professional achievement

David Berger ’64Y, ’67R of Flushing, NY, will receive the Samuel Belkin Literary Award, and Joseph Weilgus ’99SSSB of New York, NY, will receive the Lamm Award for business leadership.

The free program and reception takes place at 7:30 pm at the Yeshiva University Museum at the Center for Jewish History, 15 West 16th Street, in Manhattan. For more information, contact the Office of Alumni Affairs at 212-960-5373 or at alumdesk@yu.edu.

Leave a Reply