Presidential Fellows Bring Spirit of Yeshiva University to Israel for Colloquium and Convocation Week

Mar 20, 2006 — Seven of Yeshiva University’s Presidential Fellows are in Israel representing the university at the inaugural Colloquium and Convocation from March 17-23.

Aliza Abrams, Diana Benmergui, Ayal Frist, Ilana Lieberson, Hindy Poupko, Michael Rosman, and Shalom Silbermintz are part of the Presidential Fellows program, which puts promising graduates in leadership positions at the university.

In addition to helping with the Colloquium and Convocation, the students met with Israeli student leaders and young activists at BeMaaglei Tzeddek, an organization dedicated to raising awareness of social justice challenges in light of Halakha.

To see the week’s events through their eyes, click here.

The Colloquium and Convocation, titled “Torah Umadda in the 21st Century: Engaging Israel, Engaging the World” focuses on synthesis of professional careers and the principles of Torah Umadda, with special programs throughout Israel focusing on Religious Zionism, medicine, social work, law, and education.

The Fellowship, now in its second year, was conceived by President Richard M. Joel as a way to nurture and inspire future Jewish leaders.

The Fellows have found that Israeli alumni taking part in the Colloquium and Convocation are interested in the Fellowship and how it fits in with YU today.

“So many people came up to me during Shabbos to ask me what I do at YU. They were so interested in hearing how YU has grown and changed over the years, but they were even more excited about the similarities to the YU they knew,” Aliza Abrams observed.

The academic convocation on Thursday, March 23 will award honorary doctoral degrees to Rabbanit Malke Bina, founder and educational director of MaTaN, The Sadie Rennert Women’s Institute for Torah Studies in Jerusalem; Victor B. Geller, a retired Jewish communal administrator, author, and lecturer, who played a leading role in YU’s Max Stern Division of Communal Services; Prof. Moshe Kaveh, an internationally renowned physicist who serves as president of Bar-Ilan University; and Rabbi Shlomo Riskin, chief rabbi of the city of Efrat and founder of the Ohr Torah Stone educational institutions.


Related posts