Sy Syms Gala Awards Dinner 2022

On Monday, May 2, 2022, the Sy Syms School of Business held its annual Gala Awards Dinner at Ahavath Torah in Englewood, New Jersey, the second time in two years they have been able to do this in person.


Abigail Lerman and Akiva Poppers emcee the festivities.


Approximately 250 guests heard remarks from Rabbi Dr. Ari Berman, President of Yeshiva University; Dr. Noam Wasserman, dean of Sy Syms; Michael Strauss, associate dean of Sy Syms; Avigail Rosemore, keynote speaker and financial adviser at Morgan Stanley; Abigail Lerman and Akiva Poppers, Sy Syms co-presidents; Jonah Loskove and Shoshi Tuchman, valedictorians; and Prof. Gabriela Coiculescu (Professor of the Year) and Prof. Steven Mayer (Adjunct Professor of the Year).

Marcy Syms, president of the Sy Syms Foundation and former CEO of Syms Corp., was unable to attend but sent along her congratulations: “Sy Syms is stronger than ever. Thank you, Dean Wasserman, for your leadership and to an amazingly dedicated and talented faculty for continuing to make being at Sy Syms so life-transforming. Best of luck and perseverance to the graduating class. The world needs you, your idealism and ethical grounding.”


Rabbi Dr. Ari Berman; Dr. Noam Wasserman; Avigail Rosemore


The bulk of the evening was given over to the “awards” part of the Gala Awards, which are listed below:

Dean Harold Nierenberg Valedictorian Award

  • Jonah Loskove and Shoshi Tuchman

Bernard Brown Salutatorian Award For Excellence In Business Studies

  • Shmuel Adler & Rachel Doretsky

Harry R. Mancher Award For Excellence In Accounting

  • Jonathan Saks, Yaakov Schreier, Elizabeth Teigman & Efraim Wiener

Dean’s Award For Scholastic Achievement In Business Analytics

  • Michal Assouline & Akiva Poppers

Dean’s Award For Scholastic Achievement In Finance

  • Elliot Alboucai, Rachel Klibanoff & Dov Schlossberg

Dean’s Award For Scholastic Achievement In Strategy & Entrepreneurship

  • Madlen Kavian & Jacob Sheckter

Dean’s Award For Scholastic Achievement In Marketing

  • Max Leibowitz & Ahuva Oppen

Deans Award For Service & Character

  • SJ Tannenbaum, Joey Wajsberg, Shmuel Adler, Liav Garbuz, Liat Cohen & Suzanne Rabinovitch

President Emeritus Richard Joel Award For Presidential Leadership

  • Abigail Lerman & Akiva Poppers

Professor Of The Year

  • Professor Gabriela Coiculescu

Adjunct Professor Of The Year

  • Professor Steven Mayer