Yeshiva University Athletics Department Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

The Yeshiva University Athletics Department held its annual awards ceremony, on Sunday afternoon. This unique event was done virtually via Zoom. More than 300 student-athletes as well as coaches team managers and members of the athletics administration took part in the festivities.

Team members meeting on Zoom for the awards ceremony

This was an amazing year in Yeshiva Athletics. Seven teams reached their championship event or playoffs. The men’s basketball team won the 2019-20 Skyline Conference Championship and made it all the way to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament, before the rest of the postseason was canceled. The Maccabees finished the season ranked No. 8 in the Men’s Top 25 National Poll and led all of NCAA Division III with a 29-1 record.

The golf team scored a 321 in the second round of the Skyline Conference Championships, which is the best team score in program history.

Four fencers, three from the men’s team (Joshua Polster, Zaelig Averch, and Sammy Teichberg) and one from the women’s unit (Batsheva Lasky) qualified for the NCAA Northeast Regional. Yeshiva University Men’s Fencing Head Coach Peter Rosas was named the MACFA Coach of the Year, while Averch won all three of his bouts against the defending NCAA Champion Columbia University. The women’s fencing team earned the Roi Green Memorial Team Spirit Award for the third year in a row and a record-breaking fifth time overall.

Ryan Turell and Gabriel Leifer were named All-Americans. The former was selected as the Player of the Year by both the Skyline Conference and the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association, in addition to being named an NABC All-American. The latter was recognized as the Most Outstanding Player of the 2019-20 Men’s Basketball Skyline Conference Championships and named a CoSIDA Academic All-American. Ofek Reef earned the Skyline Conference Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year award, while Simcha Halpert finished his career ranked second on YU’s All-Time Scoring List with 1,845 career points, earning a spot on both the All-Met and All-Skyline teams. Elliot Steinmetz was named National Coach of the Year, the Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year, the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Coach of the Year and the Skyline Coach of the Year.

Seven YU student-athletes received Skyline All-Conference honors.

Here is a list of the award winners for the 2019-20 season.

Coach’s Awards

  • Baseball: Yosef Rosenfield
  • Men’s Basketball: Daniel Katz
  • Women’s Basketball: Adina Rosenberg
  • Men’s Cross Country: Jonathan Greenberg
  • Women’s Cross Country: Amanda Kasztl
  • Men’s Fencing – Foil: Dov Tuchman
  • Men’s Fencing – Sabre: Sammy Teichberg
  • Women’s Fencing – Epee: Batsheva Lasky
  • Women’s Fencing – Foil: Talya Stehley
  • Women’s Fencing – Sabre: Ilana Aidman
  • Men’s Soccer: Jess Rom
  • Women’s Soccer: Sarah Berger
  • Softball: Malky Perlberger
  • Men’s Tennis: Lior Brik
  • Women’s Tennis: Shana Adler
  • Men’s Volleyball: Derek Orenshein
  • Women’s Volleyball: Batya Schreier
  • Golf: Amiel Kerstein

Special Awards Recipients

  • The Bernard “Red” Sarachek Award: Kevin Bokor
  • The Arthur D. Tauber Award: Zaelig Averch
  • The Stanley Watson Award: Yosef Pfeffer

Graduation Awards

  • The Aaron Meyer Memorial Award—In recognition of selfless dedication to the athletics program. Presented to Matthew Garner
  • The Norman Palefski Memorial Award—Presented to David Hanelin as the most outstanding Yeshiva University graduating male scholar-athlete
  • The SCW/SSSB Merit Award—Presented to Basya Goldstein as the most outstanding Yeshiva University graduating female scholar-athlete
  • Male Graduating Student-Athlete of the Year (Individual Sports)—Presented to Lior Brik, Men’s Tennis
  • Female Graduating Student-Athlete of the Year (Individual Sports)—Presented to Bailey Frohlich, Women’s Tennis
  • Male Graduating Student-Athlete of the Year (Team Sports)—Presented to Simcha Halpert, Men’s Basketball
  • Female Graduating Student-Athlete of the Year (Team Sports)—Presented to Chana Boltax, Women’s Soccer/Women’s Basketball/Softball